← All postsComparison

WooCommerce app builders compared: 7 options, honestly

September 6, 2026 · 6 min read

Photo: Zeleboba / Pexels

This is a comparison written by one of the vendors in it. You should read it with that in mind, which is exactly why every row below is sourced from what each company publishes on its own site, and why the columns are facts you can verify rather than adjectives.

We left out the ranking. There is no “best,” there is only which architecture and which pricing model fit your store.

The four columns that decide everything

Ignore feature checklists for a moment. Four questions separate these products, and the answers predict almost everything else:

  1. Pricing model — flat monthly, per-user metering, or one-time licence?
  2. Rendering — which screens are native, and which are a browser view?
  3. Whose developer account does your app get published under?
  4. What happens to your app if you stop paying?

Question 3 is the one people skip, and it is the one Apple has written a rule about. Guideline 4.2.6 rejects apps created from a commercialized template or app-generation service unless they are submitted by the content provider — you. A vendor that publishes under its own umbrella account has taken on that risk on your behalf, whether or not they mention it.

The table

Pricing model Rendering Published under Checkout, as advertised
StoreToNative Flat $29 / $79 / $249 per month, 14-day trial Native storefront (Flutter); payment step on your store’s own checkout pages Your own Apple & Google accounts Native cart + optional native address/shipping step, then your store’s gateways; 0% commission
AppMySite $0 / $5 / $19 / $49 per month tiers Native catalog; “the final checkout screen in your WooCommerce app is loaded in WebView” (their words) Your own; automated publishing on the $49 tier WebView checkout screen
Twinr Monthly plan plus session overage $5–$84/month Advertises native and OTA updates; does not self-classify in its own native-vs-WebView post Your own Not stated as native
MobiLoud $1,499/month Business, up to 10,000 MAU, +$50 per extra 1,000 MAU Self-described “native app shell” fused with your live site Managed for you Your live site’s checkout, in the shell
Webkul Mobikul $129 one-time licence Flutter Your own Not stated
Knowband $159.99 one-time licence Mobile app builder plugin Your own Not stated
AppPresser $199 setup, then subscription; no refunds WordPress-centric app framework Your own Not stated

Every cell reflects what each vendor advertised on its own public pages when this was written. “Not stated” means exactly that — not that the feature is absent. Prices change; check the vendor’s page before you buy.

What the pricing models mean in practice

Flat monthly is the easiest to forecast and the least aligned with your growth — the vendor earns the same whether you sell nothing or triple. That is what we charge, and it means a good December costs you nothing extra.

Per-session or per-MAU metering is the model to model. It looks cheap at your current traffic and it scales with the exact thing you are trying to grow. If a vendor bills sessions, take your best month, multiply by three, and price that. One vendor in this table bills session overage from $5 to $84 a month on top of the plan, and deactivates the app if the subscription lapses — meaning your customers’ installed app stops working, which is a different category of risk from “we stop supporting you.”

One-time licences ($129, $159.99) are genuinely attractive if what you want is a build you own and you have a developer to maintain it. The catch is not the price, it is the calendar: iOS and Android each ship a breaking annual release, so a one-time licence quietly becomes “you now maintain a mobile app.”

Managed at $1,499/month is not competing with the rest of this table. It is competing with hiring someone, and against that comparison it can win easily.

What the rendering column means in practice

You can test this yourself in ninety seconds on any vendor’s demo app: airplane mode, then reopen. A native storefront shows its own empty state; a browser view shows a browser error. Long-press a product image — a web image offers “copy link address,” a native one does not. We wrote the full four-test version in native, WebView or PWA.

Note what the table does not claim. AppMySite renders a native catalog — calling it “just a wrapper” would be wrong, and their own documentation is clear that the checkout screen is the WebView part. Our difference from them on this specific axis is narrower than marketing usually admits: both of us put the payment step on the web. Where we differ is that our cart and the address-and-shipping step are native, and that guided publishing plus the pre-flight checklist are on every plan rather than the top one.

The honest summary of the whole category: almost nobody puts the card form inside the app, and the ones who claim to should be asked which PCI scope they took on.

Features that are not differentiators, no matter who says they are

If you are comparing on these, you will not learn anything, because most of the market advertises all of them:

  • RTL / Arabic support — advertised by several builders, including AppMySite.
  • Direct APK download — also common; AppMySite lists “Get Android APK.”
  • Over-the-air updates — Twinr advertises them.
  • Abandoned-cart push — advertised across the category, including by the one-time-licence plugins.

These are table stakes. Ask instead how deep each one goes — RTL that mirrors layouts and localizes numerals is a different thing from a text-direction toggle — and get the answer as a screenshot, not a checkbox.

The questions to send every vendor

Copy these into an email. The answers, in writing, are worth more than any comparison table including this one:

  1. Which screens render natively and which are a WebView? Screen by screen.
  2. Under which developer account is the app submitted — mine or yours?
  3. Are iOS and Android both available on the plan you are quoting me?
  4. Is there any usage meter — sessions, MAU, notifications, bandwidth — that can increase this bill?
  5. What happens to installed apps if I cancel?
  6. Which visual changes require a new build and store review, and which do not?
  7. Do you place ads in my app on any plan?
  8. Can I export or keep anything if I leave?

Question 5 has separated more merchants from more vendors than any feature comparison.

Where we actually fit

StoreToNative is the flat-price native option: your catalog rendered natively, checkout on your own gateways with no commission, your own developer accounts, guided submission on every plan, over-the-air design changes, and no per-user meter. We are more expensive than a $5 wrapper and vastly cheaper than a managed service, and we are the wrong choice if you want someone to run your app for you or if you want a one-time licence you own outright.

Related reading

Our full feature-by-plan table is in the comparison section, and the trial is 14 days with no card.